The Myeloma Beacon

Independent, up-to-date news and information for the multiple myeloma community.
Home page Deutsche Artikel Artículos Españoles

Forums

General questions and discussion about multiple myeloma (i.e., symptoms, lab results, news, etc.) If unsure where to post, use this discussion area.

How important is 24 hour urine test?

by Babs on Fri Oct 04, 2013 12:46 pm

I see comments here about 24 hour urine testing .My spouse's hematologist has never requested urine samples and tracks his myeloma with bloodwork /skeletal surveys etc. Is urine testing only used for certain types of myeloma?

Babs

Re: How important is 24 hour urine test?

by kjpoppit on Fri Oct 04, 2013 1:56 pm

In my case, the test did not help. It's all in the blood for me. I know there is a difference in this test and is important to others. I am new to this myeloma deal and I am sure someone else will be able to explain it.

kjpoppit
Name: Kim Nelson
Who do you know with myeloma?: Me
When were you/they diagnosed?: Sept. 19th, 2013
Age at diagnosis: 47

by Amelia on Fri Oct 04, 2013 9:36 pm

Babs, I was diagnosed in December 2011 in remission for a year. I do a 24hr urine test every 6 weeks and weekly blood test. Blood test detect Monoclonal proteins (M proteins) also known as M spike, parts of M protein may also be detected in the urine. Multiple myeloma was 80% of my body so it was in my blood & urine. Since being diagnosed I do a lot of reading and research I found for me being your own advocate is a good thing.
Blessings,
Amelia

Amelia
Name: Amelia
Who do you know with myeloma?: Self
When were you/they diagnosed?: December 2011
Age at diagnosis: 52

by Wayne K on Sat Oct 05, 2013 11:39 am

It's the most important for me. I have Bence Jones and the light chain output tells a lot about my disease. There are other indicators, but if I understand it right, the 24 hr urine test is just under the biopsy for me.

Wayne K
Name: Wayne